Kwara: APC governorship campaign council unveiled

Kwara: APC governorship campaign council unveiled

A 293-member KwaravAPC governorship campaign advisory council was set up on Sunday, comprising top party chieftains and members drawn from across the three senatorial districts of the state.

To be chaired by the governorship candidate AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, top guns of the council included the Information Minister Lai Mohammed; APC National Publicity Secretary Lanre Issa Onilu;  Kwara APC chairman Bashir Bolarinwa; Abdullahi Shuaib Yaman; Prof. AbdulRahim Oba; Muhammad Dele Belgore SAN; Gobiri Ahmed, Architect Kayode Abogunrin; and all the former governorship aspirants.

The list also contains all the candidates for Senatorial, House of Representatives and (most of the) House of Assembly polls, state leaders of the party, women and youth leaders from across the state, according to a statement by AbdulRazaq’s media aide, Rafiu Ajakaye.

The statement said the party has also set up a 199-member Governorship Campaign Elders’ Consultative Forum led by the information minister and peopled by elder statesmen such as Dr Amuda Aluko;  former governor Cornelius Adebayo;  Prof Saka Nuhu; Prof Rasheed Ijaodola;  Alhaji LAK Jimoh; Senator Simeon Ajibola; Senator Muhammed Ahmed;  Senator Gbemisola Saraki;  Titus Ashaolu SAN; Senator Sulaiman Ajadi; Chief Wole Oke; Hon. Isa Bio; M.T. Mamman; and Hajia Zainab Ibrahim, among others.

It said the setting up of the campaign Advisory Council and the Elders’ Consultative Forum was part of the activities to galvanise the people of the state behind the collective efforts — including nonpartisan campaigns — to free Kwara from misrule, corruption and oppression which the status quo represents.

The statement added that the two bodies would soon be inaugurated even as the house-to-house ‘Otoge’ (enough is enough) campaign has since started across the state amid unprecedented mass acceptance.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *